Kentucky County Formations  - Results for 'Bourbon'

    Search By:       Match:
        Search within these results

    Search For:   Show:
      (Use '%' as a wildcard or to list all entries.)
    Sort By:    

  1 Results Found ( 1 Results shown; Page 1 of 1):

1.)  Bourbon County (Current Location) Parent County/Counties: Fayette
Date Approved: 10/1/1785 Date Effective: 5/1/1786
Present County Seat: Paris Formation #: 5

Assumed Present Boundary: 3/1/1817

Reference:  Hening’s “The Statutes at Large; Being a Collection of All the Laws of Virginia”, Vol. XII., 1823, pages 89-91.

Note:  Named for the Royal House of Bourbon in France. (ref: "Kentucky Encyclopedia")

Search for cities in Bourbon County

Text of Act Creating New County: 

CHAPTER XXXVII. An Act for dividing the county of Fayette. Approved October 1785.

BE it enacted by the General Assembly, That from and after the first day of May, one thousand seven hundred and eighty-six, the county of Fayette shall be divided into two distinct counties, that is to say, so much of the said county within the following lines: Beginning at the mouth of upper Howard’s creek, on Kentucky river, running up the main fork thereof to the head; thence with the dividing ridge between Kentucky and Licking creek, until it comes opposite the head of Eagle creek, from thence a direct line to the nearest part of Raven creek, a branch of Licking, down Raven creek to the mouth thereof; thence with Licking to the Ohio; thence with the Ohio to the mouth of Sandy creek, up Sandy creek, to the Cumberland mountain; thence with the said mountain to the line of Lincoln county; thence with that line, and down Kentucky river, to the beginning; shall be one distinct county, and called and known by the name of Bourbon; and the residue of the said county shall retain the name of Fayette.

A court for the said county of Bourbon, shall be held by the justices thereof on the third Tuesday in every month, after the said division shall take place, in such manner as is provided by law for other counties, and shall be by their commissions directed. The justices to be named in the commission of the peace for the said county of Bourbon, shall meet at the house of James Garrard, in the said county, upon the first court day after the said division shall take place, and having taken the oaths prescribed by law, and administered the oath of office to, and taken bond of the sheriff according to law, proceed to appoint and qualify a clerk, and fix upon a place for holding courts in the said county, at or as near the center thereof as the situation and convenience will admit of; and thenceforth the said court shall proceed to erect the necessary public buildings at such place, and until such buildings be completed, to appoint any place for holding courts as they may think proper. Provided always, That the appointment of a place for holding courts, and of a clerk, shall not be made unless a majority of the justices of the said county be present; where such majority shall have been prevented from attending by bad weather, or their being at the time out of the county; in such cases the appointment shall be postponed until some court day when a majority shall be present.

The governor, with advice of the council, shall appoint a person to be first sheriff of the said county, who shall continue in office during the term, and upon the same conditions, as is by law appointed for other sheriffs. It shall be lawful for the sheriff of the said county of Fayette to collect and make distress for any public dues or officers fees, which shall remain unpaid by the inhabitants thereof at the time such division shall take place, and shall be accountable for the same in like manner as if this act had not been made. And that the court of the said county of Fayette shall have jurisdiction of all actions and suits, in law or equity, which shall be depending before them at the time of the said division, and shall try and determine the same, issue process, and award execution thereon.

In all elections of a senator, the said county of Bourbon shall be of the same district with the said county of Fayette.

REF: Hening’s “The Statutes at Large; Being a Collection of All the Laws of Virginia”, Vol. XII., 1823, pgs. 89-91.

Counties Involved in Boundary Change: Clark

Date Approved (Boundary Change): 12/18/1798 Date Effective: 12/18/1798

Reference For Boundary Change:  Microfilm Roll #1 - Governor James Garrard: Executive Journal & Enrolled Bills.

Text of Act Approving Boundary Change: 

An ACT for adding part of Bourbon to the County of Clarke. Approved December 18, 1798.

SECTION 1. BE it enacted by the General Assembly, That all that part of the County of Bourbon which is included in the following boundary, to wit: Beginning at a red oak tree marked CL, corner to Bourbon, Clarke and Montgomery Counties, and running from thence such a course as will pass the end of a line drawn due north three miles, that shall begin at two elms corner to Fayette, Bourbon, and Clarke Counties, and the said line after passing the end of three miles due north from said corner to Fayette, Bourbon, and Clark to continue the same course until it shall strike the line between Fayette and Bourbon on the dividing ridge, thence with said dividing Ridge southwardly to the Clarke line, shall be and the same is hereby added to and made a part of the said County of Clarke.

SECTION 2. The Sheriff of the County of Bourbon is hereby directed and empowered to collect and make distress for all public dues and officers fees which shall remain due and unpaid by the Inhabitants hereby added to the County of Clarke as aforesaid at the time such addition takes place. And the Courts of the said County of Bourbon shall have Jurisdiction in all causes either in Law or Equity, which shall then be depending before them, to issue process and award Execution thereon.

This Act shall commence and be in force from and after the passage thereof.

Legislation signed by Governor Garrard; Edmund Bullock, Speaker of the House of Representatives; Alexander S. Bullitt, Speaker of the Senate; and Harry Toulmin, Secretary. Legislation originated in the House of Representatives.

REF: Microfilm Roll #1 - Governor James Garrard: Executive Journal & Enrolled Bills.